Republic of Nauru

Republic of Nauru

21 km2 13,700 inhabitants Capital Yaren

the smallest island state in the world.  

The surface is like 1/4 of the surface of the island of Vis.


The first settlers of Nauru were the Micronesians and Polynesians more than 3,000 years ago. British captain and whale hunter John Fearn was the first European to visit the island in 1798. Christian missionaries from Gilbert Island came to the island in 1888. In 1970, a local phosphate extraction society was founded. This nationalized society gave Nauru one of the highest standards of living in the Pacific, and at that time it was the second richest country in the world (per capita).
Nauru gained his independence in 1968. Since 2001, the economy has been maintained with the assistance of the Australian Government, which in turn requires Nauru to guard asylum seekers attempting to enter Australia.

Nauru is an atoll located at the top of an underwater extinct volcano. Inside the island there are phosphates that have been created by seabird droppings. About 2 km² of the island is forested. Global warming directly affects Nauru as drastic sea level rise threatens the island's disappearance. The district judge is at the head of the district court, which records, among other things, the birth, marriage and death of the population. The percentage of the literate population is over 99%. For the future, they hope to be in fisheries, which does not play an important role in the economy today. All electricity on the island is produced at a power plant in Aiwu. Public transportation is provided by bus. The flight from Europe (Frankfurt) to Yaren, with stops takes about 30 hours.



Nauru Y 4.15 min.

Backpacking in Nauru: Top 16 Sights in Yaren (the Capital)



Financial support