Mauritius Independence Day

Mauritius Independence Day March 12, 1968
52 years of independence from the UK.


1,860 km2 1,189,825 St. Port Louis Capital
The island was discovered by the Portuguese in 1505, but remained uninhabited until the colonization of the Dutch who settled it in 1638. During the eighteenth century the island was ruled by the French. The British took over the island in 1810, Mauritius gained independence in 1968, when it became a republic. It is a democratic state and one of the most developed countries in Africa. The two main languages ​​in Mauritius are English and French. The diverse colonial past reflected on the culture of Mauritius, which is a mixture of Dutch, French, Indian and Creole culture. The Republic of Mauritius also includes Rodrigues, Agalega and Cargados Carajos, which are far from Mauritius.
Since independence in 1968, Mauritius has developed an economy based on agriculture, with industry and tourism growing steadily. GDP is estimated at $ 12,800 per capita.
Sugarcane is grown on about 90% of agricultural land and accounts for about 25% of exports. Agriculture, fisheries and forestry employed 8.2% of the active population, 28.7% in industry, construction and mining, and 63.1% in the service sector. The capital, port and administrative center is Port Louis with 137,608 inhabitants. There are 4 other major cities with a total population of 42%. In Mauritius, at the beginning of 2004, there were about 10,000 so-called. Offshore company.



Financial support